Axial Muscles

Human anatomy > Muscular System > Axial Muscles

The axial muscles has two parts namely: the pectoralis major and the latissimus dorsi.

The Pectorialis Major

The pectorialis major is the main muscle that keeps the humerus and the pelvic girdle attached to each other. It is a characterized with the shape of a fan, and it is located in the pectoral girdle.

Latissimus Dorsi

This is a large muscle that resembles a triangle. It has a flat apperarance and it covers the inferior section of the back’s thoracic area. The latissimus dorsi is also known as the swimmer’s muscle. 

Axial muscles anatomy

© Copyright 2010-2011